From a good Ebay deal to crap in 60 seconds

Well this story might bore some but somebody might get a kick out my bad luck. I won an auction on Ebay for X-Men 2099 #1-26 for $11 including shipping.
Feeling pretty good about scoring this good deal I paid and waited for the package to arrive. This is what it looked like when I got it.

 

If you look in the lower right hand corner you can see the sorry your package is “fucked up” bag the the post office put it in. That when I checked the contents all that was inside was issues 1,2 and some Rules of Engagement handbook from the military. I contacted the seller told him what happened as expected he had no clue but told me that the he did not put the handbook in the package.

I went to the post office to see what could be done to recover the missing contents and find out what the hell happened. After looking at the package they tell me that they suspect the bulkiness of the contents caused stress on  the envelop  and that the seller should have used a  box instead. The ROE handbook that was inside appeared to be from a another package and they took it just in case there was a claim on it like the one I filled out.

I filled in the seller on what might have happened and basically told him I am not going to beat him over the head for $5 but I am not leaving any feedback for him. The reason being I did not feel right leaving a positive note when I didn’t get what I paid for and it might have been his fault for improper packaging. Since I can’t prove it was his fault I was not going to leave a negative one either.

In the end they will have the word out for three months looking for the missing books but I am not going to hold my breath. Hopefully I can get the same or better deal when I go to the one day show in Atlanta next month.

Leave a Reply

