Some thoughts on trades/graphic novels I own 4

Got all of these except for vol 1 for $5 a piece at a one day show in Atlanta. I used to collect this series in single issue form back in the early days of the series. Sadly those issues and numerous other comics were sold off in what I call the Great Purge of 03. Anyway here we go this is going to be split into two parts. The second part will be posted on 5/16/11 .This is because I don’t want the spam bots to get burned out with these two being back to back. One thing about these books and most modern comics is these things go down like fast food. At this point in time I don’t know if that is a bad thing.

Ultimate X-Men Part 1:

Volume 1: The Tomorrow People
A great start to the series. I enjoyed the tweaks made to the mythology of the X-Men. I like the more grown-up tone to the series. The art is a wonderful sight.

Volume 2: Return To Weapon X
My favorite of the group. I just like the idea of one group coming and not killing off the X-Men but absorbing them into their  group. The Wolverine/Sabertooth fight was right up there with some of their old school brawls. Getting saved by The Brotherhood was a nice twist.

Ultimate Collection Book 2
Collects volumes 3&4 into one book which was nice deal for the price I paid. I liked the smaller character stuff more than the overall story arcs of this book. Did not care for Gambit story at all. This one is my least favorite of this group.

Volume 6: Return Of The King
The return of Magneto was a welcome change of pace from the ho hum stories in the last book. Liked the flashback sequences of the early days of Charles and Erik’s relationship. The final throw down between the team and Magneto was a nice treat.

Volume 7: Blockbuster
Spider-Man and Wolverine with a little Daredevil thrown in for good measure. Enjoyed the interactions between the two casts.

Leave a Reply

